Tap Screen To Begin

Chris McGregor

Horseracing Athlete- Inducted 2024

Chris McGregor’s journey in the world of horse racing began at the age of 16 and lasted an impressive three decades until his retirement in 2006. He started his career in the backstretch, taking care of horses and cleaning stalls. Over time, he progressed to galloping horses during morning workouts, and while still a teenager, he began riding Thoroughbreds in races, marking the start of his successful career.

During his career, McGregor received recognition for his achievements, including two nominations for the Sovereign Award. Presented annually by the Jockey Club of Canada, this prestigious award celebrates outstanding accomplishments in Canadian Thoroughbred horse racing. McGregor was nominated for the award in both 1990 and 1992, standing among three jockeys acknowledged for their excellence.

Widely regarded as a notable figure in the horse racing world, McGregor’s legacy is defined by his impressive track record. Competing in nearly 14,000 races between 1979 and 2006, he emerged victorious in an impressive 2,248 races. One of the highlights of his career came in 2000 when he won the Canadian Derby riding Scotman, showcasing an outstanding 46% winning rate.

Additionally, Chris was exceptionally fortunate to have never needed to resort to flipping diets or dehydration techniques, methods commonly used by many jockeys to meet weight requirements before races. Throughout his entire career, he enjoyed the liberty of consuming whatever he liked without fear of failing to make weight. This unique advantage contributed to his sustained performance and distinguished him as a jockey of exceptional talent and resilience.

McGregor’s skill and success were further highlighted by numerous other achievements. These include being named Jockey of the Year in Saskatchewan in 1987 and receiving the title of Outstanding Jockey of the Year in 1988. His dominance extended beyond individual accolades to regional recognition, exemplified by his receipt of the Lou Davis Memorial Trophy for the top jockey in Alberta in 1990, where he secured an impressive 229 wins, along with the esteemed Joe Perlove Award for the most wins.