Tap Screen To Begin

1951 Lethbridge Maple Leafs Hockey Team

Hockey Team - Inducted 1974

The Lethbridge Maple Leafs hockey team was formed in 1940 by a group of former Lethbridge senior and junior hockey players. In 1950, they captured the Western Canadian Championship. The Maple Leafs were selected to represent Canada at the World Amateur Championships in Paris, France in 1951. Headed by Dick Gray, they won the gold medal following which they entered the Sir Winston Churchill Cup Competition, again winning the gold medal. The Lethbridge Maple Leafs were the first holder of the Cup. During their European tour, they played 62 games winning 51, tying four, and losing seven of them.

1951 Lethbridge Maple Leafs

Ken Branch*, Bill Chandler*, Denis Flanagan*, Bill Flick*, Bill Gibson*, Dick Gray*, Mallie Hughes*, Bert Knibbs*, Jim Malacko*, Robert McGregor*, Don McLean*, Nap Milroy*, Hector Negrello*, Stan Obodiac*, Whitey Rimstad*, Mickey Roth*, Lou Siray*, Karl Sorokoski*, Jack Sumner*, Don Vogan*, Tom Wood*