Tap Screen To Begin

1950 Edmonton Waterloo Mercurys Hockey Team

Hockey Team - Inducted 2011

The Edmonton Waterloo Mercurys were an amateur hockey team in Alberta named after Edmonton car dealer and sponsor Waterloo Mercury. In 1950 they represented Canada at the World Hockey Championships in London, England and successfully won the title. The Mercurys were the first Alberta hockey team to win gold on the international stage. During the 10-day, round robin event, the Mercurys won all eight games, outscoring their opposition 88 to 5. Prior to the World Championship, the team traveled across Europe for 3½ months playing in 33 exhibition games, losing only three games to professional teams. On their return home, 60,000 fans lined the parade route in Edmonton.

1950 Edmonton Waterloo Mercurys 

Harry Allen* (M), Jim Christiansen* (P), Marsh Darling*, Bob David*, Jack Davies*, Bill Dawe*, Wilbur Delaney*, Don Gauf*, Jimmy Graham* (C), Joe Hanley* (M), Jimmy Kilburn*, Leo Lucchini*, Doug Macauley*, Jack Manson, Ab Newsome *, Al Purvis*,Don Stanley*, Bert Tonsi* (T), Bob Watt*, Pete Wright*, Hassey Young

After Induction

Individual team member updates:

Dr. Donald Russell Stanley

1978 - Commonwealth Games - chair of the Facilities Committee

1988 - University of Alberta - Sports Wall of Fame

1988 - University of Alberta - Honorary degree of doctor of science

1997 - Canadian Society for Civil Engineering - Albert E. Barry Medal for lifelong achievement in the field of engineering.

1998 - Alberta Order of Excellence