Tap Screen To Begin

Calgary Colts 1989 1990 Junior Football Teams

Footbal Team - Inducted 2018

The Calgary Colts Junior Football Team was a member of the Prairie Football Conference (PFC) of the Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) and consisted of athletes aged 17 to 22. In 1989 and 1990, the CJFL was made up of 26 teams and five conferences. The Colts won the CJFL National Championships in 1989 and 1990 and were the first team to win the newly established Canadian Bowl Trophy.

In 1989, the Colts finished their regular season in fourth place, then shocked the Regina Rams and the Saskatoon Hilltops with wins to capture the PFC Championship. Next, they faced and won against the Winnipeg Hawkeyes of the Manitoba Junior Football Conference before heading home to Calgary for the National Championship game. The 1989 Colts staged a final upset, as they out-played the favoured Burlington Tiger Cats to take an early lead. Steve Thompson rushed for 214 yards and was named Most Outstanding Offensive Player of the Canadian Bowl. The game ended with a 23-6 victory for the Colts on home turf over the Burlington Tiger Cats and was the first national title for the team since its formation in 1965.

The following season, the 1990 Colts placed second in regular season play. Once again, they opposed the Saskatoon Hilltops in the playoffs and the Colts triumphed in overtime. The team then secured the Conference Title with a win over the Regina Rams. Next, the Colts travelled to Vancouver, British Columbia and upset the #1 ranked Surrey Rams.  They headed to Winnipeg, Manitoba where they defeated the Thunder Bay Giants.  The Colts were the team to represent the west in the National Championships. Their playoff journey finished in Windsor, Ontario where they soundly out-played the Windsor's AKO Fratmen to a final score of 50-15. The victorious Colts had captured the Canadian Bowl trophy once again.

The road to the National Championships is lengthy and extremely difficult and even more so when it is done in consecutive years.  The 1989 and 1990 Colts players were supported by an extremely solid group of coaches, staff, management and trainers. The team manager, Keith Evans, worked tirelessly for decades to ensure the team was both operational and competitive. Both the 1989 and 1990 playoff runs were led by Head Coach Keith Kendal, who came to the club in 1987. Coach Kendal and the coaching staff assembled a group of young men with “Never Give Up” attitudes who played with heart, determination, and above all played as a Team.

Sean Weimer, from the 1989 and 1990 teams, commented:

“We, for whatever reason, clicked. The team was comprised of young men from many different walks of life, but for those two years, we were able to find common ground and bond together to form a group of players that was unstoppable.”



1989 & 1990 Calgary Colts 

Jeff Avery, Ashford Baker,  Ryan Bando,  Doug Barker(VP),  Randy Bec,  Brian Belanger, Craig Berger,  Karmen Berreth (T),  Brian Bieche,  Tann Borhot,  Dwayne Brown,  Jeff Brunner, James Buchanan,  Tom Burke,  Carl Chapel,  Dion Chrapko,  Pete Christos,  John Christos, Mark Clarke,  Steve Dallision,  Kevin Dawkins,  Joe De Leeuw*(A), Mike Dean,  Scott Deibert, Jeff Dickson,  Kirk Dobrowolski,  Paul Doherty,  Glen Eades,  Debbie Elicksen (VP),  Keith Evans (GM),  Lyle Fee,  Gerard Ford, Sean Furlong,  Moses Gabriel,  Dave Garvie (P),  Doug Gayford,  Clay George-Gillies,  Elio Geremia (AC),  Trent Goy, Carl Graton (AC), Garett Gustafson, Brad Gustum*,  Randy Halsted (AC),  Brad Handel,  Cooper Harris,  Cole Harris,  Peter Hasapes,  Matthew Hassett,  Wayne Head,  Mark Hirsche,  Brent Hooey,  Lisa Iverson (T),  Anton Joseph,  James Kelly, Sean Kelly, Sean M Kelly,  Keith Kendal (HC),  Paul Kerber (AC),  Mark Kinnear, Brad Kline , Jonathan Krochak,  Mike Lakusta,  Arnica Langevin (T),  Trent Lavens,  Trevor Lavens,  Dave Lecour (T), Brian Lubbers,  Scott MacArthur (AC),  Dino Mariani,  Sean Marion (A),  Steve Martin,  Jason McIntyre,  Robbie McNabb (AC),  Mike McRae,  Reid Miller,  Tom Mitenko,  Storm Moore,  Tom Naested, Dean Neuls,  Sergio Nocita, Stu Parry,  Kiyo Pearson,  Rob Pepper,  Mark Peverett (A),  Richard Pontiflet,  Jerry Pontiflet , Ken Procter,  Kelly Proust (A),  Dave Quarin (AC),  Mac Read,  Doug Rooke * (EM),  Gord Rybchinsky,  Garry Sanderson,  Colin Sheedy (AC),  Bob Sheldon,  Rick Shulte (AC),  Kevin Showman, Jay Steele,  Greg Steinraths,  Tom Sterkenburg,  Glen Suberlak (T),  Kim Tatson (T),  Robert Taylor,  Steve Thompson,  (Dr.) David Todd,  Trevor Tomanik,  John Toone,  Brian Topley,  Lloyd Tulp,  Wayne Watson,  Sean Weimer,  Joey Whelen,  Liz Young (T),  John Yvon,  Rob Zimmerman (AC)