Tap Screen To Begin

Medicine Hat Tigers Hockey Teams 86-87, 87-88

Hockey Team - Inducted 2007

The Medicine Hat Tigers Hockey organization joined the Western Canada Major Junior Hockey League in 1970.  In their relatively short time in the League, the Tigers have claimed the ultimate prize four times, as WHL Playoff Champions in 1973, 1987, 1988, and 2004.  On top of their impressive playoff record, they were regular-season champions in 1985-86, and 2005-06. 

It was the 1986-87 season that the Medicine Hat Tigers won their first Memorial Cup in 14 years.  Following that remarkable season, the team did it again, winning the Memorial Cup for the second year-in-a-row in 1988.  They became the only Alberta team to win back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships.  With that history-breaking run, they are still only one of six teams in the League’s 88-year history to win back-to-back Memorial Cup Championships. 

There were many great players that contributed to the teams victories from the 1986/87 and 1987/88 teams, including future NHL players: Trevor Linden, Mark Pederson, Rob Dimiao, and Dean Chynoweth.

1986-88 Medicine Hat Tigers 

 Mike Barlage*, Vince Boe, Mark Bolding, Ron Bonora, Neil Brady, Dwayne Brook, Corey Cheney, Dean Chynoweth, Kevin Clemens, John Colvin, Jeff Cox, Rob DiMaio, Rocky Dundas, Kevin Ekdahl, Trevor Ellerman, Russ Farwell (GM), Mark Fitzpatrick, Clayton Gainer, Troy Gamble, Murray Garbutt, Kelly Hitchins, Jamie Huscroft, Wayne Hynes, Jim Kameitz, Kalvin Knibbs, Kevin Knopp, Dan Kordic, Rod Krushel, Mark Kuntz, Dale Kushner, Kirby Lindal, Trevor Linden, Mike MacWilliam, Bryan Maxwell (C), Wayne McBean, Scott McCrady, Ryan McGill, Barry Melrose (C), Jason Miller, Bob Nicols, Mark Pederson, Guy Phillips, Trevor Pohl, Jason Prosofsky, Kevin Riehl, Mike Schwengler, Randy Siska, Darren Taylor, Keith Van Rooyen, Jeff Wenaas, Neil Wilkinson, Rod Williams Mark Woolf, Cal Zankowski


After Induction

2003-04 - Won the WHL Championship

2006-07 - The Medicine Hat Tigers won the WHL Championship and competed at the Memorial Cup, losing to the Vancouver Giants.

2008 - Trevor Linden - The NHL Vancouver Canucks retired Trevor Linden's #16 jersey December 17.  Trevor Linden retired from playing in June 2008 – having played, most of his 19 years in the NHL with Vancouver. At the age of 21, he became one of the youngest players in the history of the NHL to be named captain and set a record for number of games played for Vancouver at 1,140.  From 1998 to 2005 he was president of the NHL Players Association. In 2003, he was awarded the Order of British Columbia.

2014 – Trevor Linden – The Vancouver Canucks named Trevor Linden President of Hockey Operations on April 9, 2014.

2015 -  ASHFM Selection Committee reviewed the team(s) induction list and it was decided that the Head coaches and GM would be included on the team roster as Honoured Members into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame: Russ Farwell [GM], Bryan Maxwell [C], Barry Melrose [C].

2019 – 1986/87 & 1987/88 Teams will be inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame on July 21